Tags

Section 1-The necessity to love the Prophet

Allah says, “If your fathers, your sons, your brothers, your wives, your tribes, the property you have acquired, the merchandise you fear will not be sold, and the homes you love are dearer to you than Allah, His Messenger and the struggling for His Way, then wait until Allah shall bring His command.” 9:25.

This verse demonstrates encouragement, advice, proof and indication of the necessity to love Prophet Mohammed (peace and blessing be upon him). It is also sufficient to demonstrate that this duty is of tremendous proportion. It is an obligation and the right of the Prophet (peace and blessing be upon him). You will have observed how Allah reprimands those whose love of relatives and property are dearer to them than Allah and His Messenger (peace and blessing be upon him).

Allah concludes His warning with the threatening words “then wait until Allah shall bring His command.” And from this it is understood that those whose love is other than for Allah and His Messenger (peace and blessing be upon him) are astray and are not guided by Allah. Anass tells us that one day the Prophet (peace and blessing be upon him) told his Companions, “None of you will believe until I am more beloved to him than his children, his father and all people.” Anass also reported, “There are three things that if someone were to seek refuge in them they would experience the sweetness of belief.

They are that Allah and His Messenger (peace and blessing be upon him) are more beloved to him than anything else; that he loves a person only for the sake of Allah, and he loathes the notion of reverting to disbelief as much as he would loathe to be cast into the Fire.” One day Omar, al-Khattab’s son went to the Prophet (peace and blessing be upon him) and told him, “I love you more than anything except my soul which is between my two sides.”

The Prophet (peace and blessing be upon him) replied, “None of you will believe until I am dearer to him than his own soul.” Omar immediately replied, “By the One who sent down the Book to you, I love you more than my soul which is between my two sides.” The Prophet (peace and blessing be upon him) replied, “Omar, you have reached it.”

Sahl warned, “If someone does not think that the Messenger of Allah (peace and blessing be upon him) is his master in all matters or should think that he does not fall under his jurisdiction he does not taste the sweetness of his prophetic way, because he said, “None of you will believe until I am dearer to him than himself.”

Section 2-The reward for loving the Prophet

Anass tells us of the occasion when a man came to the Prophet, praise and peace be upon him and asked, “When will the Last Hour come, O Messenger of Allah?” Whereupon the Prophet (peace and blessing be upon him) inquired, “What have you prepared for it?” The man replied, “I have neither prepared an abundance of prayer, fasting or charity for it, but I love Allah and His Messenger.” The Prophet (peace and blessing be upon him) told him, “You will be with the one you love.” Safwan, Qudama’s son was told the same when he declared his love for the Messenger of Allah (peace and blessing be upon him).

The Prophet (peace and blessing be upon him) took hold of the hands of his grandsons al-Hassan and al-Hussayn and said, “Whosoever loves me and loves these two, their father and mother, will receive the same degree as myself on the Day of Resurrection.”

One day a man came to the Prophet (peace and blessing be upon him) and told him, “O Messenger of Allah, I love you more than my family and possessions. I always remember you and could not wait to come just to look at you. I bear in mind that I will die and you will die, and I know that when you enter the Garden you will be raised up with the Prophets, but when I enter it I will not see you.”

Shortly after Allah sent down the verse “Whosoever obeys Allah, and the Messenger, they are with those whom Allah has favored, the prophets, the sincere, the martyrs and the righteous, and these are the best company.” 4:69. Having received this verse the Prophet (peace and blessing be upon him) called the man back and recited it to him. Another man came to visit the Prophet (peace and blessing be upon him) and could not stop gazing at him.

Picture Source – Transposition’s Photostream

The Prophet (peace and blessing be upon him) gently inquired the reason why, whereupon the man replied, “May my father and mother be your ransom! I enjoy gazing at you and on the Day of Resurrection, Allah will exalt you on account of the high esteem which He has prepared for you!” It is also said that it was then that Allah sent down the verse mentioned above.

We are given the good news transmitted by Anass that the Prophet (peace and blessing be upon him) said, “Whosoever loves me will be with me in the Garden.”

Section 3-The narrations of the early generations of Muslims and imams concerning their love for the Prophet and their longing for him

Abu Hurayra tells us that the Messenger of Allah (peace and blessing be upon him) told his Companions, “Those in my nation whose love will be the strongest are those who come after me. Amongst them there are some who would have traded their family and wealth to have seen me.” Many of the Companions, including Omar and Amr, al-As’s son tell us that there is no one more beloved to them than the Messenger of Allah (peace and blessing be upon him).

Abda, the daughter of Khalid, Ma’dan’s son spoke of her father saying, “Khalid never went to bed without yearning for the Messenger of Allah (peace and blessing be upon him) and his Emigrant (Muhajirun) and Helper (Ansar) Companions, and he would name each one of them.

He would say,’They are my root and branch, my heart longs for them, I have yearned for them for a long time, O my Lord, hasten my return to You!'” Isaac’s son tells us that at during the encounter of Uhud the father, brother and husband of one of the Ansari women were killed as they fought alongside the Messenger of Allah (peace and blessing be upon him). However, despite her loss, her only concern was for the safety of the Prophet (peace and blessing be upon him).

The lady asked anxiously for news of the Prophet (peace and blessing be upon him) whereupon she was told, ‘Praise be to Allah, he is as well as you would wish,” She asked, “Show him to me so that I may see him.” When she caught sight of him, she exclaimed, “Now that I know you are safe, all my afflictions have become as nothing.”

When Imam Ali, may Allah honour his face, was asked about his love for the Prophet (peace and blessing be upon him) he replied, “By Allah, we loved him more than our wealth, sons, father and our mothers, and more than cold water during times of great thirst!” The Caliph Omar went out one night and see that all was well in the community and happened to see a lighted lamp in the house of an elderly lady who was carding some wool.

As she worked away she said, “The praise of the good be upon Mohammed, may the blessed bless him! I stand in tears before dawn. If only I knew when death gives us different forms whether the Abode will join me to my beloved.” Upon hearing these heart-felt words Omar sat down and wept.

The foot of Abdullah, Omar’s son became numb and he was reminded, “Remember the most beloved of all people to you and it will go away.” Abdullah cried out, “O Mohammed!” and the numbness left. As death approached Bilal, his wife called out, “O sorrow.” Bilal responded, “O what joy, I will meet those I love, Mohammed and those with him!”

One day a lady came to Lady Aicha, Mother of Believers,may Allah be pleased with her, and asked her to show her the tomb of the Prophet (peace and blessing be upon him). Lady Aicha showed her the tomb whereupon the lady started to weep and continued weeping until she died.

When the Meccans took Zaid, Ad-Dathina’s son out of the Sacred Precincts to martyr him, Abu Sufyan, Harb’s son, said to him, “I ask you by Allah, don’t you wish that Mohammed was with us now so that he would be in your place and that it would be his head that will be severed, and you were with your family?”

Zaid replied, “By Allah, I would not wish that Mohammed would be in a place where even a thorn would prick him if that was the condition of me being returned to my family!” Abu Sufyan said, “I have never seen anyone who loved another in the way the Companions of Mohammed love Mohammed!” Abbas’ son tells us of the time a woman from Mecca came to the Prophet (peace and blessing be upon him) in Medina.

Upon her arrival the Prophet (peace and blessing be upon him) asked her on oath to swear that she had not left her home on account of her husband’s anger, or because she wanted a change in her surroundings, and that the only reason for her leaving was because of her love of Allah and His Messenger (peace and blessing be upon him).

As the son of Zubair lay martyred, Omar’s son stood over him and prayed for his forgiveness and said, “By Allah, according to what I know of you, you were a person who fasted, prayed and loved Allah and His Messenger” (peace and blessing be upon him).

Taken from Kitab ash-Shifa bita’rif ‘Huquq Al-Mustapha (The Antidote in knowing the rights of Chosen Prophet). Dar-Sirr.com

